Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Stick

June 02, 2017 03:53PM
Quick - word association. What comes to mind when I say the word "Stick"? Not a small branch; nope not a baseball bat - Gene "Stick" Michael. Maybe he is one of the most underrated Yankees of all time. Stick arrived in the Bronx for the season of 1968 - a special place in my heart because it was Mickey's final year. A shortstop by trade Gene replaced another heart throb in '69 - Tom Tresh. Not a super star 15 career home runs nor perennial all-star - Stick would go on to be versatile utility Yankee - no not as a player but as member of the greatest organization in sports.